<u>The Organization</u>

The Appellate Tribunal for Electricity (APTEL) has been set up under the Electricity Act 2003 by Government of India (Ministry of Power) w.e.f. 7th April, 2004, to hear appeals against the orders of the Adjudicating Officer or the appropriate Commission under the Act. The Tribunal also has Original Jurisdiction to hear petitions under Section 121 of the Act. APTEL is headed by the Chairperson, who has been given the terms of a sitting judge of the Supreme Court. There are three other Members of the Tribunal, one Judicial and two Technical Members, who have been given terms of a sitting judge of the Delhi High Court. Every Bench constituted by the Chairperson shall include at least one Judicial Member and one Technical Member. The Headquarters of APTEL is New Delhi.

The first Chairperson of the Tribunal, Hon'ble Justice Shri Anil Dev Singh assumed office on 13th May, 2005 alongwith Hon'ble Mr. Justice E. Padmanabhan as Judicial Member and Hon'ble Sh. A.A.Khan and Hon'ble Sh. H.L. Bajaj as Technical Members of the Tribunal.

The Tribunal started hearing matters from 21st July, 2005. As on 31.01.2010, a total of 2220 Appeals/Petitions etc have been registered. Of which, 1770 Appeals/Petitions have already been disposed of.

Hon'ble Mr. Justice E. Padmanabhan demitted office as Judicial Member on 14.12.2006 AN.

Hon'ble Mr. Justice Mahesh B. Lal assumed office as Technical Member (P&NG) on 30.07.2007.

Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Manju Goel assumed office as Judicial Member on 25.01.2007.

Hon'ble Mr. Justice Anil Dev Singh demitted office as Chairperson on 12.05.2008.

Hon'ble Mr. A. A. Khan and Hon'ble Mr. H. L. Bajaj , demitted office as Technical Members on 12.05.2008 AN.

Again on 28.08.2008 Hon'ble Mr. A. A. khan and Hon'ble Mr. H. L. Bajaj have assumed office as Technical Member on 28.08.2008.

Hon'ble Mr. Justice M. Karpaga Vinayagam has assumed office as Chairperson on 14.11.2008.

Hon'ble Mr. A. A. Khan has demitted office as Technical Member on 06.08.2009 AN.

Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Manju Goel has demitted office as Judicial Member on 03.01.2010 AN.